Northern Lakes Community Mental Health Authority (NLCMHA) serves adults with mental illness, persons with intellectual and developmental disabilities, and children with serious emotional disturbance (as defined by the Michigan Mental Health Code) in six counties: Crawford, Grand Traverse, Leelanau, Missaukee, Roscommon, and Wexford.

Through our Northern Health Care Management (NHCM) division, we also coordinate the Home and Community Based Services for the Elderly and Disabled Waiver Program (also known as the MI Choice Waiver Program), in ten counties: Antrim, Emmet, Charlevoix Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, Leelanau, Missaukee, and Wexford.  Through this program, eligible adults who meet income and asset criteria may receive Medicaid-covered services like those provided by nursing homes, but can stay in their own home or another residential setting. Additionally we provide Nursing Facility Transition Services to 22 counties in the “Tip of the Mitt.”

NLCMHA is part of the Northern Michigan Regional Entity, one of ten Prepaid Inpatient Health Plans (PIHPs) in the state of Michigan which manage behavioral health (mental health, intellectual disability and substance use disorder) services for people enrolled in Medicaid.


See the NLCMHA Enabling Resolution and Agreement for more information.